anti-feminist??

[12/01/2002@4:10 AM]
[anti-feminist??]

recently...
test - 02/21/2018
change - 07/18/2004
good day - 04/26/2004
help - 04/15/2004
eh - 03/30/2004
Is it just me or is this little girl not getting the point at all? Arg, ok. Start from the beginning... I recently stumbled upon the anti-feminist diaryring. I guess I wasn't at all surprised that such a thing exists, but I was horrifically disgusted to realize that many of the members are female. Did they join as a joke? Were they forced at knifepoint? I just don't understand. I suppose I don't typically IDENTIFY myself as a "feminist" but when it comes down to it, I AM, by definition. There are many, many labels that others would give me, that I would refuse. But feminist will never be one of them. I'll gladly accept that label. Even if I'm not out there marching in parades or participating in protests, it is something that I fundamentally BELIEVE in. I guess the reason that I don't throw myself into it more is that I just see it as a GIVEN. I mean, the concept is so BASIC to me. Maybe it's a slightly naive way of looking at it, but hey, I've got tons of shit to worry about. Maybe someday when my own life is a little more than a pile of broken pieces, I'll get around to tackling the more far reaching issues.

So anyhow, I find myself at what is obviously a young teenage girls diary. One of the members of the aforementioned atrocity. The diary itself is near unintelligible because the girl obviously has a grasp of english and typing which are about equal to her grasp of what "equal" means. Which is to say, not much of a grasp at all. From what I could make of it, she seemed a fairly typical teenager. Which I suppose, if I were to be honest, is a bit of an insult coming from me. For some reason I feel compelled to ask this girl if she knows what exactly she is saying by identifying herself as anti-feminist. I leave a simple entry in her guestbook. It, and the ensuing "dialogue" follow:

(my original guestbook entry)

****I noticed you are a member of the anti-feminist diaryring. Why? Do you know what "feminist" actually means? Just curious. from ayla****

(a day or so later, in her journal she answers)

****....i got my first guestbook signing with attitude someone enquiring bout if i no they meaning of feminist so here ya go: feminist:noun, the advocacy for womens rights on the grounds of sexual equality. that was the Oxford University press meaning so i assume its fairly accurate. i am a member of the anti-feminist diaryring but (ok this will probably miss more ppl off) my rings mean very little to me i barely even read any of the diaries i just wanted to decorate my own, for god's sake i'm a member of the ice ice baby diaryring!!! anti-feminist does sound a lil extreme but i for one am a non feminist, i think if someone wants to be a feminist more power to them just as long as there not shoving it down my throat which i have experienced before. I have the same views on religion worship what ever floats your boat just don't talk to me about it. back to the feminist thing i'm not against them i think its great that women saw a problem and tried to fix i just don't need someone yelling in my face because i let a guy lift a table for me. i guess you could say i've had some bad experiences with so called feminists and i definately don't could myself as one, but for the record and to officially answer your question..YES i know what a feminist is. alright rant over sorry bout that everyone ****

(my answer, via guestbook)

****I'm glad that you do know, at least intellectually, what a feminist is. I hope that you also realize that not all people who are feminists try to shove it down your throat by telling you that you should not let a man lift a table for you. Someone being strong enough, or not strong enough, to lift something has nothing to do with being a feminist or not being a feminist. Every movement has its extremists. Just know that no matter what someone calls themselves (feminist, anti-feminist, christian, pagan, witch, gay, fat, etc) the label that they choose means only what the word itself means. And, just because someone does NOT choose to call themselves something, does not mean that they are NOT that something. I honestly don't call myself a feminist. I stumbled upon that diaryring and was curious about who would be in it. I was shocked that many of the people were female. Regardless of all this, if you believe you are equal to men, (and I'm assuming you do, because you don't seem like an idiot) then you fit the definition of feminist at its most basic. Please don't discard the ideas as you discard the label. from ayla****

(her answer. or should I say, her display of incredible ignorance)

****enough with the damn feminists!!! 2002-11-30 @ 4:21 p.m. wow that was a hella long guest book entry i got too long for my likin and far too serious, i wonder why she cares so much, i don't. but there is one thing i want to respond to in the entry she said that i think men and women are equal but i don't and that doesn't make me an idiot. when too things are equal is means they have the same value, men and women don't have the same value u can't compare it. i look at it more like this men are apples women are oranges. both have their good and bad qualites apples are better for baking a pie while oranages are better for adding flavour you can't say they're equal cuz they are too different things one is not worse than the other or better than the other but thy're not equal just different. thats men and women you can't say they're equal becuase you can't compare them. now i hope we can put this feminist issue to rest i don't care about it and i'm not sure why other people do. o yeah i hope ayla whoever u are is doing this too all the members of the anti-feminist diaryring not just the FORMER ones!****

Oh man, so many issues are at work here, I can't even begin to dig into them. Somewhere along the line, someone has told this girl that "feminist" is a bad word, and I certainly can't change her mind. I added the "you don't seem like an idiot" in so that she wouldn't feel like I was attacking her. I honestly didn't mean to, I thought maybe she was just confused. But, I was wrong. She is an idiot. A brainwashed idiot who can't spell or type. Or think for herself.

:|cause|:|effect|:

I read...
actiongrl
badlock
badsnake
blab
blondeness
chubbychic
jwinokur
littlecough
livingwreck
over-now
perceptions
prostituee
prowlingleo
spanklin
tigerknight
virgin
wishiwasout
say somethin', will ya?



dee-signs � 2002
present : past : diary rings : e-mail : guest book : profile : host